Farmer Exemptions Overview
Farm Truck Driver Rules
Truck Maintenance Requirements
Economic Regulations, Licensing, and Permits
Contact Information & Commercial Vehicle
Farm-vehicle-drivers of straight trucks only (within 150 air-miles of
their farm) are exempt from:
Combination and Straight Trucks
and Agri-Business Operations
Farm License Plate Exemptions
This Missouri farm plate exclusion basically exempts farm
vehicles licensed for 42,000 lbs or less from the DOT Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Regulation driver qualifications and file, medical
qualification & certification card, hours-of-service rules, and the
maintenance file requirements.
Farmers and farm truck drivers are still required to have a Class
E Missouri driver's license or CDL. If a CDL is required, then drug
& alcohol testing requirements must be met also. Drivers must be at
least 18 years old, speak English, and be physically capable of
operating a truck safely. All trucks must be operated with the proper
equipment and comply with Missouri state traffic laws.
Trucks as Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMVs)
Farm trucks are considered commercial motor vehicles (CMV) if
they meet the size description of a CMV, which is basically a truck with
a gross weight over 10,000 lbs. In Missouri this varies some. Please see
the Commercial Motor Vehicle definition in the glossary.
of Farm Trucks
Federal and Missouri State Statutes require that all trucks must
have markings on their truck with at least the operating business or
farm name and location of the business or farm, on both sides of the
truck. In certain cases a USDOT number may be required if crossing state
lines at all. These requirements do include farm trucks.
Requirements for Farm Trucks
Driver's License's (CDL) Requirements for Farm Trucks
Class E Driver's License
This is Missouri's non-CDL license for commercial vehicles that
do not require a CDL. This license is required for all farm truck
drivers if they do not have a CDL.
Required Drug and Alcohol Testing Rules
Age for Farm Truck Drivers
Trucks with Missouri farm license plates designated for farm use
by the "F" tab, and licensed for 42,000 pounds or less, are
exempt from the general safety regulations (FMCSR Parts 390-397) when
operating in Missouri intrastate farm commerce only.
The Missouri "F" tab farm plate regulations exemptions
are only applicable when a vehicle is lawfully licensed for a gross
weight of 42,000 pounds or less (not in excess of its licensed gross
weight of 42,000 pounds) and is designated "F" for farm use in
accordance with the applicable requirements of Missouri law. The vehicle
may only transport property to or from a farm owned or operated by that
person and the property transported to the farm is only for use in the
operation of this farm.
A farmer operating on a local commercial motor vehicle license
plate with a farm tab may not make a for-hire haul! Farmers also lose
all farmer exemptions when doing this. Farm truck drivers must still
have at least a Missouri class E driver's license, or a CDL if required,
be at least 18 years old, and comply with Missouri state traffic laws.
above exemption based on Missouri "F" tab license plates
exists separately from all other regulations and does relate to or
overlap any other requirements or exemptions discussed in this booklet.
of Driver Qualifications
Qualification Exemptions for Farmers
They must meet the general requirements of a valid license as
required above, the proper age, and speak English. These drivers also
must be medically examined, qualified, and certified (a DOT physical)
to operate a farm truck commercial vehicle and carry this medical
certification card with them while operating the farm truck.
These farm-vehicle-drivers are exempt when operating their
"farm vehicle" within Missouri, unless adjoining state's have
a reciprocal agreement and depending on that state's planting and
With Hours-of-Service Requirements
Generally, all Commercial Vehicles must follow the following
Logbooks or Time records for Farm Truck Drivers
Generally all working hours, driving hours, and off-duty time must be
documented by either using a logbook or time record. These must be kept
showing all driving time, all working time, and off-duty time.
Two exemptions are allowed for farmers from these requirements:
Crossing state lines may require full compliance with this area,
depending on that adjoining state's planting and harvesting season;
Missouri's is year round, other states vary.
To recap the above exemptions from Hours-of-Service requirements:
and Maintenance Rules for Farm Trucks
All farm trucks must be operated safely with the proper equipment such
as lighting, brakes, tires, load-securement, steering and suspension
parts, etc. This means that all equipment, parts, and accessories must
be properly maintained according to state and federal regulations.
Inspections, repairs, and maintenance must be done and documented as
Records and Proof of Repairs
All farm trucks and trailers operated on a public roadway must have a
complete maintenance file containing documentation for each truck and
Inspection Requirements for Drivers
All drivers are required to do a daily pre-trip "walk around"
inspection of the truck and trailer before operating it on any roadway
to ensure it is safe. This is to find and correct vehicle and trailer
defects, load securement problems, and equipment violations before they
cause accidents and injure someone!
Drivers must complete a daily vehicle inspection post-trip report
showing any defects noted and repaired, or that the vehicle has none,
for each day the truck is operated on the roadways.
Besides the safety regulation requirements, other rules and fees
apply to farmers operating trucks both within Missouri and interstate.
These include fuel tax licenses, over-dimension/over-weight (OD/OW
permits), apportioned license plates, for-hire authority, etc.
No OD permits are needed on Missouri state highways for farmers
occasionally and temporarily transporting an agricultural implement for
a short distance on a state highway, or transporting hay as a farm
product. OD permits are always required on the federal highway
(interstate) system. Farm drivers must operate safely and in compliance
with applicable rules and laws at all times or the OD permit will be
Farmers must comply with the maximum legal weight limits or obtain an OW
permit. Overweight loads are not exempt and always require a proper OW
permit. Fees start at $15 with an additional $20 for every 10,000 lbs
over the state maximum legal weight limit.
Reminder: Depending on the dimensions of the load and time of the
movement, when traveling under an OD or OW permit, visible warning
signs, flags, and lighting (when required due to darkness or weather)
may be needed on the vehicle! This includes transporting hay!
Limits vary by roadway designation, commercial zone operation, and the
type of vehicle. Generally, current Missouri statutory limits are as
This is based on gross weight, bridge weight, axle weight and
axle spacings. These vary, so please call or visit our website for
information regarding RSMo 304.180 for legal weights according to the
number of axles and axle spacings.
The regulations and requirements in this booklet are explained in
a very abbreviated manner and are only a brief overview of some common
requirements. The regulations should be consulted for a full explanation
of these rules and guidelines. They can be viewed on the websites listed
below or copies obtained from any regulatory supplier. The complete
regulations and state statutes, while complex, will cover these areas in
much more detail and should be read in their entirety.
Please contact any of the agencies listed below to have all your
questions fully answered.
Regulations, forms, & links to MODOT Motor Carrier Services
staff and other agencies are available on the Internet at: www.carrier.state.mo.us
USDOT- Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
3219 Emerald Lane, Suite 500
Jefferson City, MO 65109
(573) 636-3246 / 636-3870 or
FMCSA Information Line: 1-800-832-5660 or www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
Missouri State Highway Patrol - Commercial Vehicle
(573) 751-4653 or any local troop of the Missouri State Highway Patrol
These are some of the agencies that farmers may have contact
with. In Missouri the primary state agencies for commercial vehicle